What do you write on?

This week’s 3WW words are: dull, race and yawn. Find out more about 3WW by clicking here.

Not a question I’d ever thought much about really, until it came up in my writing group yesterday evening.

My favourite remains good old paper. It may be quite dull in these supermodern days of technology but that’s the way I am. Not beats the feel of a pen in my hand and the pleasure of seeing the whiteness of the page disappear as the ink spreads. With my writing group I use a large size spiral notebook, perforated so I can easily take out the pages for archiving.

Then, there are my small notebooks. They fit easily into the outside pocket of my bag or even into my jacket pocket. I carry one with me wherever I go. Notes, jottings, ideas that creep up on me suddenly and disappear even quicker, impressions and even my numerous secrets – they’re all to be found in my notebooks. But I never divulge them to anyone.

I also make it a regular practice to write things to my memory. This is to avoid it disappearing altogether and leaving me in the dark.

Other people write on my heart. But it’s one of my greatest pleasures to read what they leave there. Once again, this is accessible to none other than myself.

My only publications so far were all written on the computer and published in electronic form. But now a new race for publication is on and next month, two anthologies each with one of my stories will be published as paper books. (End of publicity stunt.)

Most of my writing is fairly simple and requires little interpretation. I’m sure it has more than once provoked a few yawns. But one media seems to bring out the worst in me. The pieces I’ve left on the life-canvasses of those closest to me, are exlusively written in ambiguous ink and include more than a tint of mystery.

About Welshman Paul

Welshman Paul loves playing around with words. One of his ambitions is to attempt a dictionary of short stories for words which have several meanings.
This entry was posted in Life, Welshman Paul and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What do you write on?

  1. Linda Jacobs says:

    Love the “heart” paragraph and the ” life canvasses” one! Great how it begins with actual writing then moves into symbolic writing!

  2. Sheilagh Lee says:

    well written and so true sometimes we don’t realize how we have affected those closest to us.

  3. Mama Zen says:

    Gorgeous writing! Congratulations on publication!

  4. Excellent thoughts. You keep writing!

    while the instrument plays

  5. Andy Sewina says:

    Well told little story!

  6. Other Mary says:

    Good luck with your writing and publishing, two very different endeavors.

  7. Rinkly Rimes says:

    An excellent use of the words and an interesting article to boot!

Leave a Reply

