Where are you, Adam?

This week’s words: erode, heart, observe. My apologies to Heinrich Böll for pinching his title.
 

Erode had never been very popular. When he was young, he tried his best to breach the repulsion people felt at the sight of him. To little avail. Whoever saw his half eaten body coming, would gather around the children like a mother hen and tell them to keep walking and not to look. And whenever they did so, the inevitable result was further erosion; a little more of his already fragile heart would disappear, eaten up by the hatred of rejection.

I was warned about Erode the moment I moved in. Every single one of my new neighbours called to bid me welcome. Without hesitation each one told me to beware.

“True, he’s a poor devil. But watch out, when they’re like that who knows what will happen; can’t control themselves, can they.”

To be honest this only served to peek my curiosity. So I decided to keep a lookout for Erode that very evening when I went jogging to the park. The result surprised me. Yet, I wasn’t sure. So I said nothing, not yet. So I went out and I observed. And as I observed, the conclusion began to force itself upon me. There was no one Erode. Almost everyone I met, showed signs of erosion trying to reach out yet harvesting only rejection because… Oh yes, there was always a because and there always will be. That’s why Erode is here to stay.

About Welshman Paul

Welshman Paul loves playing around with words. One of his ambitions is to attempt a dictionary of short stories for words which have several meanings.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Where are you, Adam?

  1. Alice Audrey says:

    A sharp observation, and a bit of what goes around comes around.

  2. None of us are perfect, are we? I think that’s what this is saying anyway. Very nice read, thank you.

  3. An interesting social commentary there, I think. Having grown up in a small English village, I’ve seen it go from a tight-knit community to a mere place of houses for commuting to nearby towns. When people try to reach out and get that community spirit going again and fail, they can falter. And then not reach out to others, because if it didn’t work for them…

  4. Sheilagh Lee says:

    so true. great story.

  5. Susannah says:

    I thought that this was brilliant! A great angle and very clever.

  6. Aparna says:

    Very very interesting. I really like how your pieces are so layered. Loved it

  7. Morning says:

    agree, beautiful story.

Leave a Reply

