Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow

This week’s Sunday Scribblings prompt: Tomorrow
 

Yesterday, all my troubles seemed so far away.

How easy it is to fool oneself. Yet it seemed so permanent, just like the cliff-top I’m standing on now. Yet, one day, it too will no longer be here. Troubles, I didn’t even see them creep up on me; from what she said I must have been feigning blindness for as long as it takes a man to wake up to reality.

Now it looks as though they’re here to stay.

Not just stay but multiply, like flakes of snow like powder on the ground, clinging to my toes, submerging my feet, creeping slowly up my shins, leaving me to wonder when, perhaps even if, release will come.

Oh, I believe in yesterday.

Fool, as I was, no I am; for even now… hope beyond hope.

Suddenly, I’m not half the man I used to be,

Isn’t self-pity a wonderful thing: delight, luxuriate, revel, glory in… refuse to get up, refuse to face tomorrow.

There’s a shadow hanging over me,

a hiding place shielding me from the world.

Oh, yesterday came suddenly.

As it always does for blind bullheads.

Why she had to go I don’t know she wouldn’t say.

Or maybe, I refused to hear… Refused because I knew, I knew what she needed without having to ask her. And when she tried, then…

… I said something wrong,

and that was the end of that.

Now I long for yesterday.

Or at least for another chance, my lesson learnt.

Yesterday, love was such an easy game to play.

So easy, even I messed up. But messing up isn’t the end; it can’t be; there’s got to be a way out.

Now I need a place to hide away.

Now I need to get up and face tomorrow. Take another throw, face my music, this time with ears open wide.

Oh, I believe in yesterday.

TOMORROW

About Welshman Paul

Welshman Paul loves playing around with words. One of his ambitions is to attempt a dictionary of short stories for words which have several meanings.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow

  1. Nicole says:

    I like what you did here. Now I’m going to have that song stuck in my head all day. But I don’t mind.

  2. Jae Rose says:

    Cleverly written..I think the crossed out lines hit me most..always good to change the song..face the music..Jae

  3. zongrik says:

    interesting, to write the subtext to the lyrics of a classic song.

  4. Very clever! Nice one.

  5. I hope he gets another chance or, if not, has learned where he went wrong so that it isn’t repeated.
    Very clever use of intermingling the lyrics.

Leave a Reply

