Double Homage

He’s probably the English language’s greatest writer and today is his birthday. Now as I come second to him in writing and also missing sharing the great man’s birthday by just one day, it would seem presumptuous of me to write to even attempt to do just to his achievements. So I won’t even try.

But the other day I was discussing with some friends how they were set back years in their reading habits because of bad experiences at school. That reminded me of Mr. Carless. Mr. Carless was my old English teacher. I have no idea where he is now, nor what he is doing. What was special about him. I don’t know. He was an ordinary kind of man as far as I remember but he instilled in me a love for reading and for books that has never gone away.

It was under his wings that our class was introduced to Shakespeare and his world. It was fantastic. He made it all seem so magical to my young mind and he hooked me. It was Mr. Carless who introduced me to the world of the school library and showed how libraries and me a school librarian. I almost chose that as my chosen profession, languages finally taken priority. But I’ve never lost my love for books and I’m sure, were I in the UK today, I would be a volunteer in one of those libraries threatened with closure.

So, Happy Birthday William and thanks very much Mr. Carless.

About Welshman Paul

Welshman Paul loves playing around with words. One of his ambitions is to attempt a dictionary of short stories for words which have several meanings.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

