Bare Necessities

This week’s 3WW prompt brings us the words fabricate, peculiar, adamant. This is a bit roughshod. I’m working on this character for something bigger and here she’s reflecting on some past experiences whilst listening to her favourite song.
___________________________________________

The bare necessities… yes, it’s true, you can survive on them; here at least. was right, despite my misgivings. Yet, I’d never seen him so adamant. It was so unlike him, I guess I should have believed him right off.

I’ve been here the best part of a year now and I can truly say all I need is at the doorstep. The sun itself provides all the heating we need. For washing I warm water by putting it outside in cans. Most of our food we grow ourselves. Or we pick up fruit from under the trees that line the roads here. Meat we only get when someone comes to visit, but that has never bothered me. And with the sea at hand we get all kinds of fish, crabs and other delicacies. Delicious! Once you get used to their peculiar smell.

Yes, there bare necessities, that’s all we need. And they’re here, all around me. But I guess there’s more to life than things. Although, I live in a commune, I can’t help admitting I feel terribly lonely. No one here speaks decent English, at least, they pretend not to. I’m not so sure. If they only tried… Of course, I could learn some French but you know me with languages. Uuugh! Besides, why should we English speakers always have to fit in with the others. Why can’t they make an effort now and again. The worst is that there are a small group of other English speakers here, but they completely ignore me. They don’t do anything much for the common good either. Roland, our guru, thinks they’re fabricating some kind of scheme to get rid of him. Maybe, they are; how am I to know. Of course, he thinks I’m in on it too, just because I’m English speaking. So I’m estranged from both sides. It’s pretty miserable.

So, the true bare necessity is human company, and at the moment that’s the one that’s missing. I just hope that it’ll come from somewhere and soon.

About Welshman Paul

Welshman Paul loves playing around with words. One of his ambitions is to attempt a dictionary of short stories for words which have several meanings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bare Necessities

  1. Altonian says:

    Trying to fit in abroad when you haven’t got the local language can be very dis-spiriting. Add personal and social problems, and you’re in a bit of a mess.

  2. Sheilagh Lee says:

    Sounds like a diaster waiting to happen your poor character with no one to talk to.

  3. Deborah says:

    Such a sad situation, I do hope things change for you x

  4. Old Egg says:

    Interesting that she is proud she can cope, but by being a loner she shies away from fitting in and alienates herself from both sides. I look forward to see where this goes.

  5. Paul says:

    Thanks everyone for your remarks. Deborah, rest assured; even if I am living abroad, I’m not talking here about my own situation.

  6. trisha says:

    i feel the same about bengalis, can you believe it, even in their own province they speak bad hindi to communicate with hindi speaking people 🙂

    and when they are in other parts of india they again try to speak the language of that part/hindi to communicate. ha!!!!

    trisha
    http://sharmishthabasu.wordpress.com/2011/04/08/the-visitor-for-3ww/

Leave a Reply

