Shepherd Or Sheep

Finding the right word is not always easy. Finding it in another language can be even worse.

Just over 25 years ago I was preaching one of my first sermons in French. I’d checked it over thoroughly and given it to a French speaker to pick out any mistakes. There were a couple of hundred people gathered for Sunday morning worship that day. The sermon went well, but at one point most of the congregation burst out in laughter. I was somewhat put out by this but tried not to let on. Thankfully, I got to the end without any major mishaps.

Which is which?

At the end of the service a friend enlightened me. I had been preaching on Jesus’ compassion for the crowds. In his eyes they were like “sheep without a shepherd.” It seems as if in my zeal I had asked my crowd: “Avez-vous jamais vu un troupeau de bergers?” (“Have you ever seen a herd of shepherds?”)

About Welshman Paul

Welshman Paul loves playing around with words. One of his ambitions is to attempt a dictionary of short stories for words which have several meanings.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shepherd Or Sheep

  1. Demetria says:

    I don’t even understand how I stopped up here, but I believed this publish was great. I do not realize who you are however certainly you’re going to a
    well-known blogger when you aren’t already. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

